Welcome to Mama Quest

All I am and ever will be I owe to my mother…

Mama

Mama Alice and I embracing for a Christmas-time pic in 2002.

In 2006 my mother, Alice Muscarella, died. She died of cancer. It was probably that and a little bit of never putting herself first. Swallowed up in the old-fashioned notion that a woman is a mother and wife first, she never pursued the career she always wanted. And honestly, I’m not quite sure I know what that career was. I have some ideas though.

I know she was a wonderful mother. Her life was filled with exploration. She read constantly. To me, she had all the answers.

Looking back, I now see there is so much of the story I missed. Now I will embark on a quest to find out more about my mother’s life, goals, dreams, and, dare I say, skeletons? The goal is to create a documentary of my quest including interviews with friends and family. At its most basic, mamaquest will help me continue my relationship with my mother. By exploring her life and creating a forum to share all her wisdom, I will have a constant reminder that all I am and all I ever will be, I owe to my mother’s unconditional love and unwavering strength.

Also, I am currently applying for grant money to fund an exploration into the benefits of using art as an outlet to cope with trauma. Stay tuned.

My mother bought this for me. I think she and my dad decided that she would explain humility and subtly to me. I suck at the latter and I'm an apprentice when it comes to the former.

3 Comments

Filed under About, grief, loss, mother, parent, Trauma to Art (T2A)

3 responses to “Welcome to Mama Quest

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. This doesn’t look like its going to be an easy blog to read or write, but I admire your courage and I’ll definitely be reading.

  3. Jon Kolbe

    Lauren,
    I lost my mom to cancer too. I feel exactly the same way about her as you yours. I think you’ve found a wonderful way to share your feelings with the universe. I am sure she is proud of you 🙂 Looking forward to reading your updates.

Leave a Reply

