Mike Tyson and I say ‘Let’s love each other’

You know when you and Mike Tyson are soooo on the same page about things? No, well let me back up. Just an hour ago, I was thinking about this Seth Godin book I’m reading, Linchpin. His main point is that the days of corporations selling mediocre widgets, websites and other crappy consumer goods is over. The ‘now’ offers an opportunity to be a excel by being passionate and skilled. I agree with Seth, but I default to all of the negative people I know. So far people have been encouraging of Mamaquest, but I think it’s hard to sass someone with no Mama.

The other day I was reading about starting up a business and one of the steps served as a guide to ward off people’s negativity and discouragement. It’s appalling. As if my success is separate or in competition with someone else’s success. My success is everyone’s success. We’re sharing this crazy planet.
That brings me to the Details.com interview with Mike Tyson. (Highly recommend it. It’s a riot.) Mikey T. says, ‘People just gotta love each other, treat each other better.’ Amen! Took the words right out of my mouth, MT.
A lot of what Mike talked about, including losing his four-year-old daughter and the fleeting sustenance of material possessions, was simply put: let’s help one another. I’m surprised to be joining the Mike Tyson road to redemption, but I’m on it. EVERYONE has some genius to offer. Inspiration surrounds us and yet most people sit in cubicles where the only qualification required is to detach their creative spark. As a former automaton, all I can say is that I hope I wake up in five years and see a capitalist society improved. One that encourages people to unleash their inner genius.
I recently read that with the advent of the internet, everyone will get their 15 minutes of fame. I have to ‘ugh.’ We need to help each out, not seek the Mike Tysonesk adulation. Like Mike says, ‘If you’re not humble, life will visit humbleness upon you.’
PS This is sort of unrelated, but Seth discusses different economists’ theories regarding commerce. Namely, Karl Marx vs. Adam Smith. Both agreed that there are two teams: management and labor. In this system labor follows the rules and management reaps all the rewards. Marx thought this was lousy for the laborers. Seth suggests in today’s economy, there is a third party emerging that borders both. (Stayed tuned for the conclusion–only on chapter 3.) After reading that I stumbled onto a fantastic animate short from London’s Royal Society for the Arts featuring Marxist sociologist David Harvey as he explains the “internal contradictions of capital accumulation.” My favorite part is exposing America’s love affair with home ownership, which began in 1930 with the idea that large sums of debt prevent strikes. Gross!
Leave a comment

Filed under for fun

Leave a Reply

