Interview with Brother Mike: Remembering Our Mom

One of my goals for MamaQuest is to create a short documentary to showcase how influential and unique my mother truly was. It’s been a slow and intimidating process. I’ve said that people seem apprehensive, but to be honest I may have projected my feeling onto my perspective subjects. I find it a million times harder to talk to people who knew my mother well than to complete strangers and well, the people inside the computers. Just the other day I ran into her oncologist at the hospital. She said how amazing my mother was in such an intensely genuine way that I nearly burst into tears and ran away like a child. I didn’t, but the desire was real. What kind of adult feels that way? As it turns out, a lot. I did some independent research and found I’m not alone.

After that run-in, I decided to turn things around and become dedicated to filming more interviews. I faced my fear head on by interviewing my brother Mike. Mike is 8 years older than me. He spoiled me with Barbies and piggy back rides when I just a tyke. These days he spoils me with eggs benedict on Christmas morning and remodeling services for any and every crappy apartment I rent. I have always looked up to him. He is one of the smartest and most kind people I’ve ever known.

Tweet this.

Share on facebook. Share on Facebook.

Share on LinkedIn. Share on LinkedIn.

Leave a comment

Filed under grief, loss, mother, parent, video

Leave a Reply

