Random Acts of Kindness for Valentine’s Day

Cupcakes

Strawberry Cupcakes!

Valentine’s Day sticks out as a special day in my Muscarella household memory catolog. Every year my father came home from work with red roses for my mother and one pink rose for me. This year was no different. My father gave me a Valentine gift and a card. I didn’t have the heart to tell him he had already given me that exact same card three years ago. It’s ok. Now I have two.

This year I was bouncing around likely due to a sugar high from the candy my father gave me. In my haze, I thought back to those great childhood Valentine’s memories of my mom and dad dressed up leaving for their hot date. Additionally I flashed back to every man who has ever told me, “I don’t need a special day to be romantic.” First of all, that is bullshit. It’s just not that serious of a holiday and frankly life isn’t that serious. Every little thing is not a existential statement about the human condition. Sometimes things are just meant to be fun. Plus it’s a nice excuse to tell people you love them and do nice things for people you love. If you already perform random acts of kindness daily. Mazel tov! Now you have two reasons.

Today I baked my favorite Sprinkles Strawberry Cupcakes from Martha Stewart for my family. Then I delivered a few of those pink treats to some of my favorite people. I was inspired by Random Acts of Kindness Week. For seven days The Random Acts of Kindness Foundation invites all of us to take Extreme Kindness Challenges. Today’s challenge is to write a letter of appreciation for someone you love. There’s still a little time. Write away.

Happy Valentine’s Day.

Do something wonderful, people may imitate it. – Albert Schweitzer (1875-1965); French philosopher, physician

Tweet this.

Share on facebook. Share on Facebook.

Share on LinkedIn. Share on LinkedIn.

Leave a comment

Filed under giving thanks, gratitude, holidays, loss, mother, parent, positive tradition

Leave a Reply

