What is your word?

Recently my friend and I sat contemplating this theory of cities having a word and people having a word. A single word to define the essence of a person or place. It’s a pretty popular thing to do in writing workshops. This little activity became even more well-known when Hollywood included it in the adaptation of Eat Pray Love. In the film they say Italy’s word is sex. New York’s word is achieve. L.A.’s word is succeed.

My friend and I have been trying to think of what our words but so far we’ve come up empty. To get those synapses firing, I decided to come up with a word for my mother. Initially I thought giver or helper, but those aren’t right. First I thought fighter but she’s not a fighter because her “fight” looked absolutely effortless, which takes class and character. Then it came to me like a Roman genie. It’s CHAMPION. Champion of everyone around her, champion of her journey, the victor in her challenge.

I cannot figure out my word. Giver is not my word as much as I’d like it to be. I’m too indulgent. I’m truly stumped.

What is your word? Maybe your words will inspire an unlock to my block.

12 Comments

Filed under grief, Lauren Muscarella, mother

12 responses to “What is your word?

  1. Amanda Heptinstall

    My word: Adversity. Seems like kind of a downer but I have learned so much from my experiences. I know that my life will always be challenging and I’ve accepted that. I know I can learn from anything that comes my way.

  2. Nikki

    Alright, so not totally sure this is my word, but I do love it and tend to see myself in this word:

    SESQUIPEDALIAN

    Which Merriam-Webster defines as
    : having many syllables : long

    : given to or characterized by the use of long words

  3. Esther

    balance 🙂

  4. My word is “passion”. I have a lot of interests that I somehow combine in my daily life and turn into a completely cohesive series of events. To outsiders, they have no idea how I “do” everything that I “do”.Sometimes I even ask myself: “Rachel, why are you doing SO MUCH?” The answer is: passion.

    It’s more than a passion for music or writing or work though. It’s a passion for life. If you’re not running around doing something instead of sitting on your bum doing nothing then what kind of life are you living? To me, living a life full of purpose while continually driving yourself to achieve a goal is what living is about. The only way to achieve that kind of lifestyle is to be passionate.

  5. This is a tough one. I am still vacillating but I think it might be acceptance. I was told once by when getting Reiki that I have a unique ability to accept things as they are. And I think that is one of the hardest things to do in this life, whether it’s about yourself, your life, or the world situation. It’s still not easy for me, don’t get me wrong. But there are things that I do accept as they are and sometimes that is all you can do. Thanks for making us think about it 🙂

  6. Vikki

    My word is strength. For those of us who have been through hardships in our lives, instead of being a roar our strength is quiet within us. Sometimes when times get tough our strength wavers, or we think it’s completely gone. When that happens, all we need to do is remind ourselves that it is there… because it is, always 🙂

  7. Lauren Muscarella

    I think my word is ebullient. It means to overflow with enthusiasm.

  8. Tara S.

    My word is SEEK. I’m always seeking out something new that will bring joy to my life. I seek adventure, new/meaningful experiences, new ways of doing things… I feel like I’m always in search of something new and different, never satisfied with the same-old, same-old. So “seek” does seem fitting.

Leave a Reply

